Posted by: eramys | November 9, 2011

Life is more than me

  Why ‘Life Is More than Me’? For one, life on this planet is incredible. Possibly unique, although astronomers are starting to doubt that. Think about the size of the planet, the different terrains and countries, how many people, animals, birds, fish and insects there are. Makes you feel rather small, doesn’t it? I think so, anyway. So life is more than me because I am just one tiny part of it.

  I also mean ‘Life Is More Than M.E.’ I use a wheelchair and have encountered all sorts of reactions from people. Some are kind to the point of being patronising. Some talk over my head to my carer. I met a man on a train recently who called me ‘courageous’. And yet there are those who see beyond the wheelchair, who simply see a fellow human being and who treat me as such.   

  Yes, I have M.E. (and fibromyalgia), but it’s just part of who I am, not the whole of me. I may be ill but I’m still a person with thoughts and feelings, living as normal a life as I can 

  The point is, I’m just me. A human being, living my life on this amazing planet we call home. And life is so much more than me.

 

Responses

  1. Very good start to your new blog :-), and some people, although they dont mean to, use the ‘do they take sugar’ attitude instead of talking to the person like any other normal human being, as that is how everybody with a disability would like to be treated

    • Glad you like it 🙂

  2. Great start to blogging! I’m looking forward to your posts and insights.

  3. Thanks Darcie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

